Teams of first episode of PSL

“The wait is now over and we are here to tell you of our intent to stage the PSL next year. The way we see it, the PSL is not just about cricket. It is a unique blend of entertainment and cricket which will be the most exciting Pakistani product. After extensive negotiations with various stakeholders, the Pakistan Super League governing council has decided to lock Doha as its preferred location for the tournament. The five-team tournament will take place in February next year with a total of 24 matches scheduled to take place in the first edition. We are starting with five teams in order to build the value of our franchises and will expand the number of teams in the coming editions.” Press conference held by Ex-Chairman PCB and Organizer of PSL Mr. Najam Sethi.

This is what Mr. Najam Sethi said a year before organizing PSL and finally the first tournament of Pakistan Super League started this year which is a great contribution to Pakistani cricket.

Through this event a very soft image of the country is presented before the world and it also led to very competitive domestic matches. Moreover it also helped in improving the earnings for players.

Top T20 players from Pakistan were selected for this platform and more than 90 international players of the world were consented to take part in the Pakistan Super League. Many of these players are T20 specialists who have already been playing in various leagues taking place globally.

A total of 5 teams took part in Pakistan Super League.

The provincial capitals Quetta, Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar and the federal capital Islamabad took part in the first edition of the PSL. Mr. Najam Sethi shared that the number of teams can be increased in the coming editions based on the success of the first season of the Pakistan Super League.

The tournament featured 24 very high intensity matches. The first T20 match took place on February 4, 2016 and the final of the tournament was played on 24th of the same month.

Lahore Qalandars lost the battle in the beginning and couldn’t reach the Playoff while the rest of the four teams – Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, Islamabad United and Karachi Kings fought till the end and advanced to the final matches of the tournament which would decide the first champion of this ambitious cricket league.

The winning teams Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators directly got an entry to the finals. The losing teams got another chance to claim stake for a place in the finals and confronted the winner of Islamabad vs Karachi match.

The final was among Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United and the trophy was won by the country capital. They celebrated their victory under the captaincy of Misbah ul Haq with extreme joy.

Written By: Maryam Farooq.